Accounts of some heritage buildings existing in Deogarh District are given as follows .
Attractively perched on a hillock at a height of 165 feet from the ground in the backdrop of green hills of Padhanpat was built by Raja Kabi Raja Satchidananda Tribhuban Deb in the year 1908 as a royal retreat and guest house for visitors including the poets and authors. The architecture is of Indo-Saracenic style and in the niches of the boundary pillars on marble plaques are engraved quotes from poets singing paean of this structure which provides amusing reading to the visitor. Basant Nivas commands a grand view of the town below.
There are two well-appointed suites in this refurbished building which is used as an inspection bungalow for visiting officers and official guests, and is maintained by the State Public Works Department.
A little above Basant Nivas is located Lalit Basant in the serene surrounding of the Padhanpat hills. This too was built by Raja Satchidananda Tribhuban Deb in the year 1910 to accommodate royal personalities. The architectural design is similar to that of Basant Nivas and a visit obtains a better view of the valley and the town below from its balustrade fenced foreground. Accommodation is limited to only one suite but is better furnished after renovation with modern electrical gadgets. During the Raj, this was used by visitors who preferred quiet and isolation from the din and bustle of the town.
Those who are historically inclined and have interest in heritage structures may also visit some old buildings and locations, foremost among them is the Royal Palace.
The present palace was built by Raja Sir Basudeb Sudhal Deb in the year 1896 and remains in use of the former royals of Ganga dynasty. The palace is a huge structure and within its walls are located the royal residential quarters, recreation hall, residential offices, store houses, guest accommodation, art and artefact gallery, library, the Parishad Hall (old Council Hall), Rani Mahal (Zenana or Queens’Quarters), royal kitchen, the old magazine room for storing armoury and ammunition, secret chambers for storage of treasure and old precious items and above all temple of Maa Kanaka Durga, the guardian angel of the Ganga clan of Bamanda. There was double-storied accommodation for prince and princess. There is spacious courtyard for congregation of people in fairs and festivals.
The marble statue of Sir Basudeb Sudhal Deb installed at the entrance of the Palace commands a unique position in the field of history as a real retreat. The first capital was in the village Bamanda near Bhojpur. In course of time it was shifted to Suguda and Purunagarh and finally to Deogarh town.
The Sabha Gruha made of wrought iron pillars with intricate design and triple shelved corrugated iron roofing stands on ground of the Royal Palace. This structure was erected during the reign of Raja Satchidananda Tribhuban Deb in the early 1900s. Surrounding the Sabha Gruha are vast open spaces where people congregated in the past during fairs and festivals and also for Raj Darshan, a ceremony where the King appeared for public view of his subjects and for “Ticca” or obeisance ceremony. At present this covered space is used for various public utilities and activities like health and yoga camp, seminar and discussion and recreational fairs for women and children like “Meena Bazar”. This is an inspiring contribution of during his reign from 1903 to 1916.
Jagannath Ballabha H. Press
A printing press named The Jagannath Ballabh H Press was set up by Raja Sri Basudeb Sudhal Dev in the year 1886. It was meant to print books, royal court and postal stationery and located adjacent to the Palace close to the site of the present private bus stand. It taken over by the Government of Odisha and a part of the chain of Government presses in the state soon after Independence. The Press was electrically operated during the period of Raja Satchidananda Tribhuban Deb in 1903 soon after hydro-electricity was generated in the State of Bamanda.
Deogarh Court Building
The court building was constructed by Raja Satchidananda Tribhuban Deb. It signifies the dynamic strategy of the then popular administration. The structural design is unique and is intricate in its uncommon architectural grandeur. There is spacious accommodation in the building for executive, judicial and treasury work. The building stands majestically unruined for its sturdy yet aesthetic design and majestic construction. The marble statue of Raja Satchidananda Tribhuban Deb and his wife Rani Dambarudhar Priya Devi stand in front of the porch inviting appreciative glances from the visitors and reminding them of Sir Sudhal Deb for his efficiency and excellence in administration. Presently the main building houses the District Collectorate and within the premises are located several other government offices and institutions including the Court of the District Judge.
Rajkumar High English School / Raja Basudeb High School
The most glorious achievement of Sir Basudeb Sudhal Deb was establishment of a High School in the pattern of Islamic College of Lahore in the year 1882. The school building was constructed at cost fifty thousand Rupees by Raja Satchidananda Tribhuban Deb in the year 1912. Located in the heart of the town of Deogarh, it stand as an epitome of Bamanda’s rich cultural heritage. The remarkable structure of the school building attracts the visitors standing as a testimony to the past glory of former State of Bamanda.
Built in the year 1920 by Raja Dibya Sankar Deb in the memory of his father Raja Satchidananda Tribhuban Deb, a reknowned poet and man of scientific ideas. He was fond of learned discourse and used to organise weekly seminars on both the soft subjects of arts and of hardcore science among intellectuals. He donated his personal collection of books to the public library to develop the habit raeding and learning among people. He had set up a laboratory in the palace for experiments in mechanics and mettalurgy. The present structure represents his fondness for higher learning in Bamanda. The library building stands as a witness to intellectual pursuit the royal fostered and thus Deogarh came to be known as “Buddh Hansa Kelisar”. There are 10301 books in the public library and hundreds of regular readers use these assets for reading and research work.The library has become a knowledge Park for the people of Deogarh. Plenty of valuable books can be found in the library. It was inaugurated on 25.02.1920 during the period of Raja Dibya Shankar Deb by the Britsh Political Agent stationed at sambalpur. The Library is under the management of the Information and Public Relation Department, Government of Odisha locally supervised and maintained by the District Information and Public Relations Officer.
This resort for retreat of the royals was built by Raja Dibya Shankar Deb between the year 1916 and 1919. Kailash is ideally located with its beautiful, mountain clad valley on the side of N.H. 49 within a distance of 15 Kms from Deogarh town. The kings of Ex-Bamanda estate have left behind many heritage buildings as their honeymoon places inside hills and mountains. The State Government have identified this place as one of the echo-tourism sites in the year 2004. A visitor can spend hours and days in Kailash Palace in quietness enjoying the surrounding nature undisturbed from the din and bustle of city life.
Kalajira Minor Irrigation Project and Godavari Lake
Both Kalajira Minor Irrigation Project and Godavari Lake were constructed at Ballam at a distance of 16 Kms from Deogarh town in the year 1891. The Godavari Lake offers peaceful ambiance to the visitors. During winter some migratory birds come to the lake. Besides, Raja Satchidananda Tribhuban Deb has constructed one temple and one Dak-Bungalow on a hill side which depict the deep legacy of Indian Culture and tradition.